Ensemble Paramirabo

The intrepid and dedicated members of Ensemble Paramirabo come together as a single voice to perform contemporary music, showcase emerging composers, and expand the boundaries of the traditional concert experience. As a creator of innovative events, the group provides young composers with a venue for refining their trademark within Montreal’s new music scene and a springboard for exposure abroad. Ranging from a single instrument to a quintet formation, Ensemble Paramirabo often engages guest musicians to expand its repertoire and meet the requirements of new compositions.

Taking its name from Paramirabo, by Montreal composer Claude Vivier, Ensemble Paramirabo’s roots date back to 2008 at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal. Since its foundation, the ensemble has been invited to New York’s Mise-En Festival, Winnipeg’s Cluster New Music Festival, and the Montreal Contemporary Music Lab. A proud ambassador of local contemporary music, the ensemble has over 30 premiers and commissions to its credit. Its recordings, both live and studio, have garnered numerous awards for composers such as Julien Robert (Flash Point: 1st prize at the 201 3 Sond’Ar-te Electric Ensemble Competition and 3rd place in the Serge Garant category of the 2014 SOCAN Foundation Awards); Scott Rubin (The Torn Cubist: 2nd prize at the 2013–2014 OSSIA New Music Composition Prize); and Matthew Ricketts (Graffiti’s Song: 1st place in the Serge Garant category of the 2011 SOCAN Foundation Awards). The ensemble has been presented by a number of organizations, including ECM+, the Music Gallery: Emergents Series, the SMCQ, Erreur de type 27, Innovation en concert, and Code d’accès.

Over the years, the group’s efforts have been noted by a number of journalists and music critics. Crystal Chan mentioned the ensemble in a March 2012 Scena Musicale article entitled “Yin/Yang, Montreal’s Musical Entrepreneurs.” The website Bachtrack describes the group as demonstrating “total fearlessness” and “a rare gem … born solely of creative inspiration, [whose] evolution as an up-and-coming musical force is not to be missed.”

Ensemble Paramirabo wishes to thank its loyal partners, along with the Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, the SOCAN Fondation, the Conseil des arts de Montréal, and the Canada Council for the Arts for their generous support.

Ensemble Paramirabo

Jeffrey Stonehouse, flute*

Geneviève Liboiron, violin

Viviana Gosselin, cello*

Daniel Anez Garcia, piano

* founding members of the ensemble

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s